What the Bible Says About Being Unfriendly – Proverbs 18:1 (NCV)

Recently, as I was sitting at my desk debating what to do during my short lunch break, I decided to open up the bible. I don’t think my faith was very strong at that moment and I needed some perspective. I opened it up with the intent to read something in the Psalms and landed on a scripture in Proverbs. It read, “unfriendly people are selfish and hate all good sense”, Proverbs 18:1 (NCV). I literally laughed out loud. I’ve never read that before. Ironically, I didn’t recall being particularly unfriendly that day, but there have been many days when responsibilities and elevated stress levels have morphed me into a surly beast. In those moments, I rarely think about the senselessness of being unkind. It’s so true! Typically when I become that surly beast, I am self-consumed and worried about the things in my life that are outside of my control. How senseless is that?!

So there you have it ladies and gentlemen. Have good sense; be friendly!

3 thoughts on “What the Bible Says About Being Unfriendly – Proverbs 18:1 (NCV)

Leave a Reply

