The Work To Believe – John 6:29

“…this is the only work God wants from you: believe in the one he has sent.” John 6:29 (NLT)

What is the most important work of a Christian? Is it going to church? Serving the poor? Giving contribution? Doing the “right thing”? Being nice? This scripture has challenged my thinking in the last few weeks about what matters most to God. Just believe? It sounds too easy and dare I say soft! However, if belief is the most important goal, then it must not be that easy. When I read scriptures like this, I have to take it to the Greek. Perhaps I misinterpreted what “work” means?

 The word “work” according to my Strong’s dictionary comes from the Greek word ergon which means “to work.” It also means “to toil (as an effort or occupation); by implication, an act:-deed, doing labor, work.” Work is work!

What is the moral of the story? The majority of my effort should be poured into nuturing, increasing and/or rebuilding my faith in God. My biggest enemy in this effort is working too hard to please people and look good on the outside while forgetting about God and neglecting my spirit. I need to get to work!

Leave a Reply

